walmart pushes cfl's!

well, if they are evil theyre doing some good!
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/01/02/business/02bulb.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

Comments

• Roderick
    Roderick Solar Expert Posts: 253 ✭✭
    Re: walmart pushes cfl's!

Good heavens, I'm sheltered!

In my area of California, CFL's are all over the place, in every drugstore and supermarket. With the seller's rebate from the local electric utility, I've seen them at 2/$1 or even 3/$1 at local stores. I thought everyone used them, but apparently not. All my friends seem to use them. Maybe I just know a lot of treehuggers?
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

I work in retail, here in Canada and am seeing more people all the time buying them. Most people seem to know about them, having heard by word of mouth. Most who use them, love them and are really taken with the low energy consumption, some are scared off by the price, between $2 and $20 each, depending on the make and model, and there are NO rebates. However there are a very few, generally seniors, who for reasons unknown to me, actually claim to hate them. Also, among those who don't buy CF's, is a sizable number who can't or won't look at the long term savings, opting for the initial "savings" of a 60 cent conventional bulb.
    Overall, our sales of regular light bulbs has fallen off dramatically over the past couple of years.
    Wayne
  • crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭

This is apparently big news. In fact, last night's NBC Nightly News included a short report on this very topic.

Home Depot also sells 6-paks of 14 W CFL's (~US$ 10), and Ikea sells "mini" CFL's (down to 4 W) with the mini-base (candelabra?). We have five 7 W units in the light bar in our sons' bathroom -- a total of 35 W -- and they sometimes complain about "too much light"...

Note: Fluorescent lamps contain mercury and, when they die, they should be recycled and not just thrown out in the trash.

Regards,
    Jim / crewzer