AGM vs FLA

Options
palausystem
palausystem Solar Expert Posts: 122 ✭✭✭
We are ready to shop for our next set of batteries. Our "learner" set is about gone.

I'm still a novice, wondering if the FLA would be more forgiving than the AGM, and in what ways?
We like the sound of less maintenance. We have a shunt-based monitor, and so could keep an eye on things that way, but I'm so trained to check SG and do EQ's when the system is "sluggish", that I wouldn't know how to care for the AGM's, how to tell if there was a problematic cell, etc.
So I suppose once you establish the correct charging regimen, and have enough panel to battery ratio, you're good. Do you check voltages on individual batteries every so often? What else?

Given a properly set up controller the only downside I've heard so far is about longevity. Some say almost as long as L-16 FLA but I haven't heard anything very specific.
Off-grid 48v, 3 kw PV, Sunny Island 5048U, SunnyBoy, US Battery RE L16XC  6v, 800ah, Genset: Kohler 8.5 RES propane.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: AGM vs FLA

FLA's are definitely more forgiving of mistakes. They are also cheaper per Watt hour, and can be monitored by specific gravity which is as close to 100% accurate in determining SOC as you can get.

AGM's are capable of greater current in/out, lighter, and not hazardous to ship. They don't produce any gas under normal circumstances. Most of the makers do not recommend any EQ charging ever, but some do (carefully controlled).