How to choose a better solar panel?

bobby, lin
bobby, lin Registered Users Posts: 8
It is my first time to purchase solar panel and need your help or recommendation.

Is there anything I should pay special attention to?

such as safety, price, quality,etc.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: How to choose a better solar panel?

I guess you are in Taiwan...

It is very difficult to know these days what company(ies) is making reasonably reliable solar panels these days. Some of the major companies have the history of providing support for their products... But even good companies have been known to turn out bad panels at times.

In general, if you want panels that will last a long time. Suggest that you get glass panels with crystalline (mono or poly) cells.

Plastic/flexible panels many times will only last a few years.

Thin film panels typically only last 5-10 years (although, there are newer panels that should have better life).

In the US/North America, we usually look for NRTL (National Recognized Testing Labratories) approved panels (Like UL/Underwriters Laboratories, ETL, TUV, etc.). These panels should be marked with the NRTL mark. NRTL testing is expensive (>$50,000 USD last I read a few years ago)--So any company that takes the time an money to do the tests is usually a serious manufacturer. NRTL testing does not really mean the product is "good quality"--But for solar panels, part of the testing is testing in harsh conditions--So if the panel pasts the testing, there is a good chance it is a good panel.

CE (European) mark usually does not mean too much.

Otherwise, you need to pay attention to the Vmp and Imp of the panel (to match that to your battery / controller combination). There are several rules/conditions you need to check to ensure that everything plays well together.

My recommendation: