renogy 40 amp mppt charge controller

Options
Quarry
Quarry Registered Users Posts: 3
ok i'm new to solar and need some help.
I went to Renogy.com and bought 3-300 watt solar panels, a 40 amp mppt charge controller. I went to a store and bought 2-12 volt AGM batteries. Also bought a power bright 24 volt pure sine wave inverter. I got it all hooked up (load,batteries,pv in that order) i go to switch the charge controller mode to 17 (which is on/off mode). I cant seem to get it to switch on after. When i first hooked it all up the load ran for a short time and then turns off.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: renogy 40 amp mppt charge controller

Welcome to the forum.

I'm not familiar with that particular charge controller but it sounds as though it has 'LOAD' terminals on it. Be advised you do not want to use them for connecting your inverter. Connect the inverter to the batteries through a fuse or circuit breaker, making sure that all wiring is suited to the expected current. You didn't say what size your inverter is, but the LOAD terminals on controllers usually aren't capable of more current than the controller rating, in this case 40 Amps and that's <1000 Watts @ 24 Volts.
  • Quarry
    Options

1000 watt inverter is what i got. I was trying to run the inverter through the load terminals of the charge controller. Thank you that explains alot for me.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,456 admin
    Options

1,000 Watt inverter * 1/0.85 inverter eff * 1/21.0 volt batt cutoff = 56 Amps at full load / min battery voltage

That is a fair amount of current and not many (if any) charge controllers can supply that level of current through their "load" connections.

Also, make firm/bolted up connections (with short/heavy gauge wire capable of the current) between your devices--Just using a set of automotive jumper cables will not work--And can make it appear that you have bad hardware.

-Bill