Combiner Box (3kw)

solarnewzealand
solarnewzealand Registered Users Posts: 13
Hello,

I'm moving onto the combiner box part of my self taught solar expertise and can only call on the forum experts for more advice. As the title suggests I'm installing a 3kw solar system that is in 6 strings of 5 modules. Why would I need to connect the positive and negative to individual breakers? That means I would need to purchase 6 breakers, why not just one? Is it a just a safety measure? Correct me if I'm wrong but I could just purchase an empty box and attach the universal breaker attachments to said box then install my wiring? Why do some boxes have a busbar installed? New to CB's so any advice would be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Combiner Box (3kw)

It is indeed a safety measure. It works like this: if one or more of those strings develops a short the remaining ones can dump their full Isc into it. So one shorted string of six can have 5X Isc applied to it, which is likely well above its conductor current rating (look for the specification "maximum series fuse rating").

In fact this is more important than putting over-current protection on the whole array's output to the charge controller (or GTI) because that is self-limiting; you know the combined Isc off all strings and they will not exceed that amount. So as long as the wiring can handle that full current (and it should be sized to) there is no possibility of an over-current situation.
  • solarnewzealand

Thank you again Cariboo that's just the answer I was looking for.
  • westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭

You need a CB on each Pos lead from the string, the Neg does not need a CB and will be combined with a buss bar.
    here is the type of combiner you will want, and it just happens to have space for 6 CBs http://www.solar-electric.com/mnpv6.html

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM