Complete Beginner - DC lighting for off grid island

Atnot
Atnot Registered Users Posts: 3
There is a small island that has no power. The people living there share a single generator in turns. We want to install a simple solar system to provide lighting in the evenings.

Basically the people live around the docks they have built. So near each dock is three or four homes. At each "pod of homes" we are planning on installing a solar panel and a battery. Then run low voltage wiring to each home in the pod to power 2, 5 watt LED lights.

The wiring we plan on using is just LVT or Irrigation Low Voltage wire.

We have the lights, and panels. We need batteries, wire, and inline fuses.

What are we missing?

The closest place to the island to buy supplies is Pulau Batam on the Island of Batam in Indonesia. Anyone know a supplier that is in the area or that ships there?

Thanks in advance
Atnot

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Complete Beginner - DC lighting for off grid island

Welcome to the forum.

What you're missing is the distance factor. The further those low Voltage wires have to run and the greater the current on them the lower the Voltage will be by the time it gets to the other end. As such the lights could be very dim, or even not work at all.

Two 5 Watt lights is 10 Watts, about 1 Amp on 12 VDC.
    This page has a basic V-drop calculator: http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm
    Now if you know the distance involved you can determine a wire size that will minimize the Voltage drop.

You would also need charge controller(s): one per panel & battery install.
    The batteries will need to be large enough to supply the Watt hours expected to be used, and the panels & controllers large enough to recharge those batteries in the available sunlight.