New Guy - Need help with 1.5KW Off-Grid System Setup

pavz
pavz Registered Users Posts: 1
Hi,

I am totally new to Solar systems and would like some help from anyone.

I would like to build the following system up: 1.5KW Off-Grid system that will supply 500W of electricity to 3 houses next to each other.

Each house is 30 square metres and uses the following:

5 x LED Lights (25 Watts)
1 x TV (70 Watts)
1 x Fridge (180 Litres) (140 Watts)
2 x Plug Points for charging mobile phones (50 Watts)

Total Load per house = +- 285w - 400w

Total load for 3 houses= +- 855w - 1200w

Is it possible to split the power to three houses with the above mentioned load?

Please can someone help me with the components necessary to build up a system like this if its possible.

Would really appreciate all the help.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: New Guy - Need help with 1.5KW Off-Grid System Setup

Welcome to the forum.

First up we need to get some terminology straight. Off-grid systems are measured in terms of the Watt hours they can supply. So whereas the loads may add up to 285 Watts, you also need to know how long each of those loads will be on in order to calculate the total Watt hours consumed.

An example: the refrigerator may well use 140 Watts when it is running, but it might run 1/3 of the time for the whole day or 8 hours total. 140 * 8 = 1120 Watt hours. That is a lot different from 1200 Watts.

Second it is possible to run three houses from one inverter, but it may not be practical to do so. For one thing you have distances between houses to consider. Even though the power equipment would be at one location and the wiring between locations would be 120 or 240 VAC there are losses in wiring. That may become impractical; by the time you get to house #3 under full load you could be either using very large wire or suffering significant Voltage drop.