Grid Tie

Hello All,

I'm rather new to PV and have built/am building a small system to gain insight as to how PV works and it's cost/benefits. Thinking of augmenting with wind since I have a fair amount living near Edwards AFB in the Mojave desert

I have spoken with CA authorities and they have indicated I can apply for multiple rebates as I build a larger system, but, I must have an initial system approved and Grid-Tied.

I currently have 4 KC 130 panels with an MX60 controller feeding 800 AH of Walmart batteries and a Harbor Freight 2000 W inverter. This is working fairly well powering fans, a swamp cooler, a TV and a few applicance chargers such as cell phones, game batteries, etc. and I am getting a good feel for how much panel power I will need and the batteries as well.

My main electric panel appears to have been designed for a total of 300 amps but is using only 2 of the main breakers leaving the third one empty.

If I want to divert some of my small system to grid tied, can I run the grid tied inverter off the existing batery bank and can I attach the output of the Grid inverter to one side of the open main breaker? Do I need to connect to both sides?

I do have a few 220v appliances, kiln and a well pump

Thanks in advance for opinions

Joe

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin
    Re: Grid Tie

I don't quite understand your main breaker setup... Generally, there is one (dual circuit) or two (ganged) breakers for single phase 240 VAC (two hot and a neutral). Three breakers (ganged?) should be for three phase power--and in California, that is generally 208 VAC rather than 240 VAC--not a huge deal, but something that you need to be aware of when connecting 2xx equipment (with 220 VAC it does not sound like you have three phase power).