Solar pole mount on body of water

Hello this is my first post. I am a solar installer in Sonoma county California and have been pondering the idea on installing a pole mount at my parents house that has a shallow lake. I want to put the array on a passive tracker in the middle on the lake and was wondering if it would incress the out put from the reflection of the water and the cooling effect of evaporating water would also help. Any suggestions or comments would be great! :-D :-D :-D

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar pole mount on body of water

that's interesting you'd want to do that, but yes i see some obvious problems with that. firstly the pole would be extra long for the same diameter in order to go to the lake bottom. i'm not sure if the pole will corrode any faster under the lake water as opposed to being near it. it will also be a bit of a feat for you to secure the thing being it is under water. how about boats or debri hitting it out there? another will be how you intend on sending the power back to dry land as the wires will be thick and heavy and special insulation utilized as water would short it out if it comes into contact with them. it would be far better keeping it on land especially if at any point the sun could reflect off of the water to the pvs without being in the water. if you aren't northwest to northeast of the lake you probably won't get a benefit of reflection then. i feel the little possible gain you'd realize by putting it in the middle of a lake doesn't justify the extra efforts and costs it would incur.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

interesting idea though, if he was positionewd right i bet it might help a bit actually (reflection), and all mounting /waterproofing problems are certainly solvable, however one major concern would be possible added length of the wirerun.

and also, wouldn't that be a pretty site tio see! (well to me but then i hang out here ;)
  • BB.