Solar System Performance

SolarSiteNG
SolarSiteNG Registered Users Posts: 3
Hello,

I am very new to solar technology.
I recently had "2200W" of solar panels and charge controller added to my existing inverter/backup generator setup.

What I have is:

10 panels in series, 220 W, 30V each
Xantrex C60 charge controller, with the remote display panel.
Xantrex XW4024 inverter with 740Ah (24V) battery bank

I live in Port Harcourt, Nigeria and we have typically a 7am sunrise and 6pm sunset all year round.
However, from the display panel of my charge controller, I have never seen more than 400W generated from the panels.
That was at 13:00 with the sun directly overhead. Most times I see about 180-270W.

This seems low compared to what I was told my panels could generate, and the level of sunlight.
Is this realistic, or should I be getting more power from my system?

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar System Performance
    10 panels in series, 220 W, 30V each
    Xantrex C60 charge controller, with the remote display panel.
    Xantrex XW4024 inverter with 740Ah (24V) battery bank

Welcome to the forum,
    I think your ten panels are in parallel, not series.

There are a few reasons why you may not be getting full power... The first reason is that your batteries are not discharged very far. When the batteries are nearly full, you can't push much power into them. When your controller is putting out only 400 watts, are you running any loads (other than charging the batteries).

Another reason (and the one to worry about) is that your panels do not produce a high enough voltage to push any current into your batteries.
    You may need to get an MPPT controller and reconfigure your panels into a series/parallel configuration.

Tell us more about your system, batteries, combiner box, cable sizes and lengths, etc.

--vtMaps
    4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i