Can't adequately charge batteries.

2»

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Can't adequately charge batteries.
    RobertR wrote: »
    When I was doing the volt / amp checks today, I hooked the two motor home panels together, + to + and - to -. Then did short circuit amp test which was still 10 amps. Volts were of coarse still ~ 20v. I'm not an electrical engineer, I was a physics major, but should that not have doubled the amps to 20?

If one panel is putting out 10 Amps and the other panel puts out 10 Amps the two together should put out 20 Amps. (Never mind the Volts.) But you have to check each panel individually and then together.

WARNING: Most DMM's will not read greater than 10 Amps. You can pop the internal fuse or even burn up the meter if the maximum current is exceeded.
  • PNjunction
    PNjunction Solar Expert Posts: 762 ✭✭✭

To cut down on all the variables, are you testing somewhat in this manner:

* Place a large towel over the panel you want to test.
    * Disconnect panel wiring from charge controller.
    * With multimeter set to voltage, place multimeter leads across the two leads coming from the panel. Don't skip previous step.
    * Remove towel matador-style. Just normally, no need to whip it off.

* Place towel over panel again, because now we are going to check amperage.
    * Change the multimeter switch settings / and test-lead positions for current measurement.
    * Use a multimeter rated to handle the rated current from the panel, otherwise you'll blow the fuse. These leads go across the two wires coming from the panel, just like you did for voltage, only this time with the multimeter set for current, it is basically measuring the short-circuit amperage.
    * Remove towel normally and take amperage reading.

When reconnecting to charge controller, the temporary towel covering is recommended.