Adding Panels to current system

SidM
SidM Registered Users Posts: 4
I’m fairly new to solar but have studied forums, manuals, etc. to try to get up to speed.

I have Twelve 75 watt panels (Vmax 21.8, Voc 30.6) that I have been using for a few weeks in 4 parallel strings of 3 panels in series, feeding a 24 volt battery system using an Outback FM60 controller with 4 golf cart batteries. I just acquired 3 Trina 240w panels (Vmax 30.4, Voc 37.2) that I would like to add.

Would the best for me be to reconfigure the 75 watt panels to 3 parallel strings of 4 panels in series (Vmax= 21.8 each, Voc 30.6) giving me 87.2 Vmax) and use the three new 240 watt panels in one string (Vmax 30.4, Voc 37.2) giving me 91.2 Vmax? This would be to try to get close to matching output voltages, or is the Voc the voltages to match?

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Adding Panels to current system

for the one fm60 i believe adding all 3 new trinas may be pushing things to the edge and beyond. it is borderline on the voc nearing the max voltage to the cc and it is over on the power as 24v x 60a = 1440w and you would have 1620w with all of those pvs.

it would work out with 2 trinas added in series and paralleled to the present system if one likes within the 10% voltage margins.
  • vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    niel wrote: »
    for the one fm60 i believe adding all 3 new trinas may be pushing things to the edge and beyond. it is borderline on the voc nearing the max voltage to the cc and it is over on the power as 24v x 60a = 1440w and you would have 1620w with all of those pvs.

Welcome to the forum SidM,

I wouldn't be as concerned about putting 1620 watts on an FM60 as I would be concerned about exceeding the FM60 Vmax.