planning to install pv system myself... what can I do/not do?

I'm working on building a house in southern Colorado and planning on putting in an off grid system with no tie ins and a diesel backup unit

I know as far as installing hv electrical systems 110/220vac it has to be performed by a licensed electrician, can I install the lv wiring myself? or does that have to be done by a licensed electrician too? If I can do the low voltage wiring that would make things a lot easier on the budget as I am a truck body electrician and I work on 12/24v wiring all damn day. If I am able to wire in the 24v lights and the PV system myself, I could save some $$$ plus the satisfaction of doing it myself trumps everything as with the rest of my house build

any information on this would be helpful

Comments

• jcheil
    jcheil Solar Expert Posts: 722 ✭✭✭
    Re: planning to install pv system myself... what can I do/not do?

There have been many threads on this before, but in general why even mess around with LV DC wiring?
    It is a lot cheaper to just wire everything for 110v AC.

Most of your 12v/24v DC devices cost more than their 110v AC counterparts and having to run larger size wire for the DC devices can sometimes cost more than the device itself.
    Off-Grid in Central Florida since 2005, Full-Time since June 2014 | 12 X Sovello 205w panels, 9 X ToPoint 220w panels, 36x ToPoint 225w panels (12,525 watts total) | Custom built single-axis ground mounts | Complete FP2 Outback System: 3 x FM80, 2 x VFX3648, X240 Transformer, FLEXnet-DC, Mate-3, Hub-10, FW500 AC/DC | 24 x Trojan L16RE-B Batteries 1110ah @ 48v | Honda EU7000is Generator and a pile of "other" Generators | Home-Made PVC solar hot water collector | Custom data logging software http://www.somewhatcrookedcamp.com/monitormate.html
  • Organic Farmer
    Organic Farmer Solar Expert Posts: 128 ✭✭