Are install rates reasonable?

I'm a newbie just starting to do my research on a grid-tie PV system, and I'm getting estimates (from 2 places so far) for a 4.5 kW system at around $21,000 after a $3.20 per watt rebate from San Diego Gas and Electric.

Is this reasonable? How much can I save by doing the install by myself? How hard is it to do my own install? Or is it better to leave it to the pros?

Thanks!!

Samir

Comments

• System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Re: Are install rates reasonable?

i think i got 4.00 each watt. your number is good. doing by a pro will make it faster and easier to be legal, get the grid interconnection from the util and local electric inspections done, etc..
  • Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭

We used to estimate around $7 per watt installed, but with the recent large increase in prices for panels I would guess it is now closer to $8 per watt for a fairly close estimate.
  • System2

Also to get the rebate you must have a licensed electrical contractor do the install.
  • System2

I have heard $1.50 to $2 a watt for installation from a contractor.

Does the licensed electrician need to do the whole thing, or just the hookup to the utility?
  • System2

no. no. no.

You do not have to have a licensed electrical contractor do the install.
    You get 15% less rebate if the system is owner installed (in California). But that’s a lot better than $8/watt for install alone!

I just finished installing my own grid tie 5kw system in San Diego. By installing it my self I was able to have the whole thing done for under $3.5/watt (that’s including tools, parts, panels, inverters, racks, everything)!! It did take me a several LONG weekends, and lots of research hours, but it is done, approved and generating 112% of my energy needs.