Grid Tie inverter AC output must be greater than grid voltage?

I'm considering a grid tie solar sytem for our home. I measure 243.5Vac coming into breaker box. This divides down into two 121.75Vac legs.
The inverters I've looked at state a nominal 220Vac output with a max. of 240Vac. Do they typically produce more than stated?
I understand that the grid tie inverter's ac output must exceed the grid voltage in order to source current into the grid.
Looking at 4x Sharp 235W panels to start with a central inverter.
My background is 25 years as an electrical engineer, however the operational side of grid tie inverters is new to me.
thanks.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Grid Tie inverter AC output must be greater than grid voltage?

Actually a GT inverter's output matches Voltage to the grid and pushes current. Grid frequency has to be within range too.

North American Voltage standard is 240 VAC, but the 'old' standard was 220 VAC. Functionally there is little difference between the two.

When you go with a GT system the whole thing has to be done with approval of the utility and local AHJ. The plan has to be set before you buy equipment and try to put it together. Four 235 Watt panels is only 940 Watts, and most central GTI's are much larger than that. Trying to power a large inverter from a small array will be a waste, and switching out inverters later likewise.

If you want to start small and grow big consider using micro-inverters instead.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

It depends on the particular GT inverter... You can get GT inverters that run at ~40 VDC input (typically micro inverters like Enphase), you can get GT inverters from EBay that take ~12-48 volt input, and you can get GT inverters that need ~200-600 VDC input...

More or less, the typical GT inverter will output upwards of 264 VAC RMS (or srt(2)*264=373 volts peak).