What to expect starting out with solar. ( for beginers ) common mans advice from newbie

Options
nobody928
nobody928 Solar Expert Posts: 62 ✭✭✭✭
I am still new to solar, but I have been off grid sense this past summer and would like to share some things i've learned to help people that are starting off.

First off as many have said before, conservation is key. Be prepared to start unplugging everything that your not using and limiting what you use. Monitor what is on and for how long as well.

There are certain realistic things that you can power from solar. For example; Cell phone, laptop, Led light bulbs, Led telivision, Direct TV units, dvd player, Cordless tools/ battery chargers. Search for energy efficent items and buy a kill-awatt meter to see what appliances actually use.

Do not expect to power; Ovens, cooktops, Heater, washers, dryers, refrigerators. It can be done but most the time its not a viable option for a small system.

PROPANE IS YOUR FRIEND! I use a small propane fridge, I also use propane heaters. Camco wave heaters are nice, MR heater buddy series also can get the job done. I use a propane oven and range. I spend less the 40 dollars a month in propane. Well worth the investment and it is pretty much my only utility bill.

12volt appliances can be helpfull! I use a 12 volt led tv/dvd and I love it. it draws less than 20 watts or 1.8 amps axess brand. There are some good 12 volt fans to circulate air in the summer time. I use the endless breeze wich uses 15 watts or 1.25 amps. Using 12v appliance saves you from running your inverter.

Rechargeable batteries! I love using rechargeable batteries. I use my solar panel to power my battery bank and then my battery bank to charge my rechargeable batteries. These batteries work great on some of my LED lighting. I use them in my radios, fans, and in mt daughters baby swing. I also use them in my on demand propane water heater. I use eneloop brand from sanyo.