Question Newbie Here

Hello Everyone

I am new to solar panels, I just purchased a 9 volt solar panel charger, I have it hooked up to a wireless camera that shows on the back DC 8 Volt with a receiver that shows DC 12 V --- both camera and receiver can run off a 9 volt batter. I purchased also a 9 volt battery and have the solar panel charger hooked up to the 9 volt rechargeable battery. When I hook up the re charable battery WITHOUT the camera connected and charge the battery with the solar panel for 8 hours everything is fine it charges correctly. I then hook up the camera which is connected to the solar panel and rechargeable battery and the battery then looses power quickly. If i take a standard 9 volt battery and hook it up where the rechargeable battery is I can see the live video feed so I know all my connections are connected and my wires are crimped correctly. Do i need a zoner Dido so the power feed doesn't drain or how can I keep this rechargeable battery from draining on my and charge correctly during the day. thanks for any help you can give.

Comments

• Roderick
    Roderick Solar Expert Posts: 253 ✭✭
    Re: Question Newbie Here

If you had just a solar panel, I might say that you need a diode to block the panel from draining the battery at night. However, it sounds like your device was specifically made to charge batteries, so probably already has the diode.