Samlex PST-1500-12 grounding?

gashog301
gashog301 Registered Users Posts: 4
Thinking of getting this inverter for backup power, Im going to have it hardwired at the inverter to a 125v 30a plug to a transfer switch. The switch powers some lights,fridge,tv's nothing super power hungry. Im confused about grounding it, could anyone help me out? By the way I have two Exide RF-31D ROADFORCE AGM-200 batteries with a morningstar 30a charge controller with 2 270w 24v panels. Im very new to this and could you explain like I was in 1st grade? :D

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Samlex PST-1500-12 grounding?

Welcome to the forum.

So the usual question around grounding is: are you talking about connecting the inverter's ground lug to ground or the issue of tying its neutral output to ground?

In the case of the former it's wire-to-wire easy. In the case of the latter it depends on where the N-G bond is to begin with: before or after the circuitry that gets changed with the transfer switch. And some of that depends on what is used for a transfer switch, as it may be a case of switching hot only in which instance the neutral and ground remain bonded and connected to all other neutrals and grounds regardless of the position of the transfer switch.

Okay, not quite first grade level but Dick and Jane weren't electrical contractors and all they had to worry about was spotting Spot and the ball. :D
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,590 admin

Sorry for not replying to your post/question earlier... This is not a simple question and takes a bit of time to type up a clear answer.

First... Why we ground.

1. We ground so that no piece of metal can become energized with respect to other metal. I.e., you don't want to get a shock when holding an electric mixer while touching the kitchen faucet (I remember back around 1960--When using my Mom's mixer, getting shocked doing exactly that).