Help with Trace SW 4048 Generator Auto Start

Options
I'm new to both this forum and to alternative energy systems. I have recently installed a Xantrex 4048 inverter/charger, 8 6v Energizer GC2 batteries and a 4.0 Onan Genset propane generator. After much toying with converting the generator to propane and tweaking the inverter I have the system functioning but have been unable to dial in the generator auto start function. What I am witnessing is that when I activate the quiet time mode of the inverter, I can only get the generator to turn on remotely when the voltage drops to my Low battery cut out setting. I can't figure out how to set my inverter to turn my generator on at the same time each day to go through the full charge process. Does anyone have any suggestions? I am completely frustrated and am not sure where else to turn...Thanks in advance!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,448 admin
    Options
    Re: Help with Trace SW 4048 Generator Auto Start

What is your low battery cutout setting? In general, I would start with ~46 volts as the floor--But because battery voltage varies with temperature, loading (and charging), it is not really possible to estimate battery state of charge just from battery voltage.

And, it sounds like you are only using a generator for recharging the battery bank at the moment? Do you have a time when you have loads on the system (water pumping, A/C, etc.) such that you can both charge the battery bank and run your loads (trying to save fuel--Batteries, once they reach around 80-90% state of charge, reduce their charging current acceptance--change from bulk charging to absorb charging--So, as the battery charging current goes down, most gensets become fairly fuel inefficient during the last couple hours of fully charging the battery bank).