PV powered MINI SPLIT HEAT PUMPS FOR AIR AND WATER

aglicknmex
aglicknmex Solar Expert Posts: 40 ✭✭✭
Hi folks,

I would just like to get out the word on how well some of the new products for heating/ cooling/ water heating, are working!!

I have been running 2 inverter style, variable speed, Mini split heat pumps all summer from 6500 w of PV One is 15K btu and one in bedroom a 9K btu. Thats all little over 1.5 tons cooling. It cools the entire 1700 foot house. With the record rain here in SW NMex and all the clouds and humidity, most folks are suffering from damp houses. I cant say enough good about these Mini Splits. Several brands are available, but all are fantastic for anyone producing power from PV. Folks who come to my house, see the units, and want to have one!!
I am a small time mister fixit type guy out in the boonies of SW new Mexico, near the town of Glenwood(300 people) I have installed 7 of these Mini splits, in the last 6 weeks and I am a lousy salesman!!
I just want to get the word out to the solar community, that you can live in comfort winter and summer, using PV to power a Mini Split heat pump.

That said, a new product for heating Water is just coming on the market. Same concept, just heats water instead of air. Fujitsu is the only one I know of right now, but the other vendors will soon have them available, Im sure. I have not gotten info on price/ availability, but the concept is fantastic. I would much rather use it to heat water than the 13 water heating solar panels that I now must maintain. They spring leaks, pumps fail, air lock etc.

Im not trying to sell anything, but just want people to know how efficient these Minit splits are. My 15K unit draws about 400w set on a medium fan speed. It doesnt stress the inverter at all. I would be glad to share my experience with anyone who is interested.

Al from New Mexico

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: PV powered MINI SPLIT HEAT PUMPS FOR AIR AND WATER