want to build a small system

Hi, i'm from aruba its a small island in the caribbean close to south america(venezuela)
what i want to adchieve is a small system that can give me 12 hours of of airconditioning (800w 220volt 16amp)
In aruba its whole year long summer climate lots of son barely any rain so i quess its about 6-7 sunshine peak hours and about 11 hours sunlight
the problem i'm having is i dont know were to start
i tried calculating and came up with this
10.8KW daily so i need 5 1000 ah deepcycle batters with 1500 inverter but couldnt get to figure out what solar panels i would need i know im wrong in my calculation but suppose its right i'm still lost how to calculate solar panel's i need for this system
I would like a full explanation how what and howmuchs stuff i need for this system pls help me
Thanks in advance

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: want to build a small system

Arookto,

I am not an expert here, but I will take a stab at some of your questions (these are just suggestions, please ask more questions and research what is available in your area).

The first thing to find is how much power you use per day--Remembering that your power usage may vary by month, winter, summer, etc... (except Aruba where it is probably beautiful the year round). These numbers need to be fairly accurate. Miss-understanding can dramatically affect the size of the system you will need. Also, conservation is the first place you should start before contracting to install a solar PV panel system. It will almost always be cheaper to save a kWhr than to try and generate a kWhr. Example below using the numbers you supplied there is a 4x difference in power consumed per day.

New energy efficient refrigerator, airconditioner, fluorescence lights are probably the first place to look at conservation.

Examples:
    800w * 24h/day = 19.2 kWhr/day
    220vac * 16amps * 24h/day= 84,480 Whr/day=84.5kWhr/day