Unable to fully recharge 12 volt system

Options
Chokosna Cabin
Chokosna Cabin Registered Users Posts: 11
Hi, I am new on this forum and have one major concern. This passed summer I purchased a cabin in the Alaskan Bush, off grid. It came with a Trace SW2512 inverter, Trace C-40amp Controller and 4 solar panels. Batteries were absent. I am new to off grid living and went through and did the research and decided to purchase (6) Trojen 2V batteries. I also purchased new cables and set it up. During the summer it was fine, according to the inverter, I didn't need to run the generator at all. Due to a great summer and long Alaskan days. As the rains came I found myself having to charge nearly daily. I finally bought a refractometer and checked my batteries the SG was at 1.17 to 1.19 regardless of charge. I would go through the Bulk and Float sequence, inverter would read 12.7 but the SG was still very low 1.18. Any thoughts?

Comments

• Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Unable to fully recharge 12 volt system

You need to start Equalizing them 15.5-16 volts as long as it takes. Watch the water and Temperature and keep them under 115-120 F. It could take a long time 10 hrs to 2-3 days to bring them up to 1.260. I just did a new ( never used ) set a week old from the factory and it took 7 hrs. The higher the SG's raise the slower it gets.
  • Chokosna Cabin
    Options

I have already begun stretching out the bulk charge, will let it finish this cycle and give your suggestion a try. Have to get the book out and figure out how to increase equalization schedule. Thanks!
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,457 admin
    Options

Welcome to the forum "Chokosna"!

As BC04 says--Getting those batteries charged back over 1.260 sg (temperature corrected) is your first order of business. The longer they set at low specific gravity, the quicker they will sulfate and die.