Measuring wattage off panels with volt meter and MC4 connection

Options
ClearHorizon
ClearHorizon Registered Users Posts: 4
I'm not a total newbie, but I just got some 20V panels with MC4 connectors that go to a MorningStar 45 controller which does not show the wattage coming off the panels. This set of panels is running in addition to the original array of six 75-watt panels and a Trace controller. Due to time constraints and daylight disappearing, I wasn't able to put the volt meter on the bare wires coming off the new panels before connecting them to the MorningStar controller. The old array is charging the batteries, too, so it's not evident that the new panels are putting off what they are supposed to. They should be, there doesn't seem to be a problem, but I'd like to check.

Now that it's all connected up and running, is there a place on the MC4 connectors that I can put the volt meter to check the panels and what they are doing? I know eventually I could get the remote meter for the MorningStar, but don't have it yet. Thanks.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Measuring wattage off panels with volt meter and MC4 connection

Welcome to the forum.

MC4 connectors are "weather tight" and not designed for intrusion. The Voltage on these wires will be the same as any other parallel connection, so if all panels are parallel to the charge controller's input that is what the Voltage will be on any of them.

Of course Voltage isn't the whole story for power. If you had a clamp-on DC Ammeter you can measure the current coming from each panel. That would give you a better indication of what power is coming from each panel. Likewise checking the output current from each charge controller in this manner will tell you how much each array is contributing to charging.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,457 admin
    Options