Batteries discharge after sunset (Xantrex Grid-Tied with Battery Backup)

c9482
c9482 Registered Users Posts: 6
I am a solar newbie and had my system installed back in June. My system is grid tied with battery backup and consists of the following components:

Xantrex XW-4048 Inverter with SCP and Power Distribution Panel
Xantres MPPT60 charge controller
4 x 255W Sunworld modules
8 x 6v Deka Solar batteries wired into 24V configuration

I have it configured to Sell to Grid. The system appears to be working correctly except for one thing. When I check the battery status every the morning, the meter shows about 66% full. Few hours later, the meter shows 100% again but as soon as the sun goes down, it starts slowly going down.

Attachment not found.

Why would there be such drain on my batteries if the system never fails over into backup mode? My installer, as it turns out, was not very familiar with Xantrex system. I called Schneider Electric few times and spoke to several different techs. They had me try few adjustments and one even told me that my array is to small to completely charge the batteries. Could the system be wired incorrectly? Mis-configured? Bad batteries? My understanding is that as long as the grid is on, there should be no load on the batteries. What am I missing?

I would appreciate any insight that can provide. I can also post any relevant settings (just not sure which ones). Many thanks in advance.
scp.jpg 66.9K

Comments

• Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭
    Re: Batteries discharge after sunset (Xantrex Grid-Tied with Battery Backup)

It looks like that meter is way off, at 26.5 volts your at float Voltage and it's 8:01 AM in the morning. Those meters are NEVER right. You can reset it, but it'll get off again. if you were at 66% the voltage would be 24.2-3 or so. Thats my guess.
  • c9482