Determining Correct Minimum Sun-hours For A Design?

Options
KE5YD
KE5YD Solar Expert Posts: 32 ✭✭
Newbie here! 1st post.
Co-ordinates: Lat. 32.9 deg.N Long. 104.4 deg.W

I have been trying to find the min. sun-hours for my location. I have found a few sites with somewhat conflicting data.

Such as PvWatts, NASA, and another 1 or 2. Which site is generally accepted as being the best?

I am trying to design a small 12v battery system that will reliably furnish 500whrs/day with 2.5 days of no-sun. Summer time

temps can reach 110F and Winter temps can go as low as -15F. These are not the Max/Min recorded extremes; but occur fairly

frequently. I have read a number of Post and know there is a wealth of knowledge here. Your comments are muchly

appreciated!

R. A. [ke5yd]

Comments

• Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Determining Correct Minimum Sun-hours For A Design?

Hi Robert,

Welcome to this Forum.

Determining the MINIMUM sun might be fairly difficult.

PVWatts2 should do a good job in showing the average. This is what I would use. Then you may want to play with battery capacity to accommodate those times when there may be heavy clouds.

If this is for a remote site that is often unattended, then using conservative numbers might help. Opinions, Vic
    Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548 Inverters, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 4X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  25 KVA Polyphase Kubota diesel,  Honda Eu6500isa,  Eu3000is-es, Eu2000,  Eu1000 gensets.  Thanks Wind-Sun for this great Forum.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,443 admin
    Options

Welcome to the forum R.A.!

I use PV Watts--It is based on ~20 year average data and therefore included "average" data. It may be on the "conservative" side a bit... But well close enough to size a system.