Another beginner question about wiring.

levsmith
levsmith Solar Expert Posts: 56 ✭✭
I'm getting ready to order the wiring for my first system but want to make sure I have one thing right. On the wiring between the charge controller and battery bank, I base the size off of the output of the charge controller and the size or amps of the battery bank does not come into play, correct? I will probably be ordering for the maximum size of CC that i plan to have in the future, So for instance if I plan to have a 60 amp CC i would want probably 6 or 4 gauge?

Also, I'm just starting out with two 6v batteries, would I want the wiring between the batteries the same size as from the battery bank to inverter, or can i go smaller?

I thought this was going to be simple, but boy was I wrong! I cant imagine not having you guys around to ask for help! I would be lost.

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Another beginner question about wiring.
    levsmith wrote: »
    I'm getting ready to order the wiring for my first system but want to make sure I have one thing right. On the wiring between the charge controller and battery bank, I base the size off of the output of the charge controller and the size or amps of the battery bank does not come into play, correct? I will probably be ordering for the maximum size of CC that i plan to have in the future, So for instance if I plan to have a 60 amp CC i would want probably 6 or 4 gauge?

This is correct. In normal operation the most current these wires will see is the maximum the charge controller puts out; the battery should not be supplying current to the controller. This is why there should be a fuse or breaker on that circuit rated for the wiring; in case something goes wrong like a short inside the controller and the battery starts trying to dump its massive current capacity into it.