Correct wiring for a system with integrated inverter/charge controller

dakaz
dakaz Registered Users Posts: 10
Hello,

I am hoping someone can point me to a good tutorial or provide answers for me around the CORRECT way to handle wiring for our small off-grid system. The system is a small 3 panel (230W, 24V) system and we are planning on putting in the AIMS 3000W Pure Sine Wave inverter/charger. We also have a small generator to use to charge the batteries in case of emergency, so the integrated ATS and AC charge controller of the AIMS is attractive. But how do you properly wire this? I have been reading a lot and I'm fairly familiar with electrical systems (I'm no electrician though). I find this diagram good (http://www.freesunpower.com/example_systems.php) but curious where I would put the correct circuit breakers and fuses. The inverter/charger manual (http://www.aimscorp.net/documents/PICGLF30W24V120V.pdf) does not seem cover the subject in detail. I see on page 6 the unit has three DC connections: DC input from Solar, a DC output (from charge controller I have to presume??) and the main DC input block for the inverter. So do I just treat the "solar DC terminal" like a standard standalone charge controller?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Correct wiring for a system with integrated inverter/charge controller

Your first link does show a pretty clear drawing of the basic connection requirements for an off grid system.

Hmmm.... AIMs inverters/systems. Always very interesting, but their documentation/actual specifications usually ends up being very problematic.

First, the Solar input is not capable of using standard GT type solar panels that you have picked (you would need a separate MPPT type charge controller directly connected to the battery bus):
    The Charge controller built in was designed with 12/24V battery voltage auto detecting function.