Small solar fan - basics

Options
athan01
athan01 Registered Users Posts: 2
I am a newbie in electronics and solar and I have a question for a simple problem requiring a simple solution:

I have used some cheap toy solar cells (2x1 inch size) to start a small fan in order to circulate air out of a cabinet at home (i have a pipe from inside the cabinet leading to the roof).

My issue is that even if there is a lot of sun out, my fan will not start automatically but needs me to give it a little push to start rotating (and then rotates at full speed until the sun goes down).

Right now, my fan is directly connected to my small photovoltaic (around 3v max output). Is there a simple circuit that I need to put in between, or even simpler solution like connect a capacitor between the two or something?

Many thanks
Andreas

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,457 admin
    Options
    Re: Small solar fan - basics

If the fan does not start in full sun, you probably do not have enough solar panels in parallel (not enough current).

Welcome to the forum Athan.

Solar panels are "Current Sources" and they output a (roughly) fixed current for a given level of illumination.

Remember that Power = Voltage * Current.

When a motor is getting started, it has very low resistance (technically low impedance from low inductance) when stopped, which keeps voltage near zero volts--And P=V*I, very low V means very little power

Once the motor is spinning, the impedance is higher, and therefore voltage is higher, and everything spins OK.

Assuming the fan will start with sufficient current (say a couple of AA or D cell batteries at motor's operating voltage), then you simply need more current.

For small motors, that is more solar panels.

For larger motors, there is a functional device called a linear current booster. This can take the Vpanel*Ipanel and "convert" it to Vmotor*Imotor -- Where Voltage is low, and therefore current is much higher.