Solar panel for camping

Options
Justniv
Justniv Registered Users Posts: 2
Hi everyone,
I'm new to solar&electronic.
The project i want to do is to build a solar panel for camping outdoors. Im gonna use this panel twice a year for a week each time (probably less). so the rest of the it will probably be stored in the basement or something - disconnected and away from the sun.
I want to be able to turn on ~7 led bulbs of 10w, and to charge a portable speaker which draw 0.85A @ 14v (that's what written on the ac/dc adapter: output: 14V 0.85A)
Ive already ordered 40 solar cells of: 0.5V 8A 4W.(here:http://www.ebay.com/itm/350701549614...84.m1439.l2649)
My question is if this low amper battery gonna be good for this purpose:
C12-8.5 Normal Voltage: 12v 8.5Ah 151x65x97 = Datasheet: http://rostec.livesystem.co.il/pictu...181_12v8.5.pdf

For example let's take this bulb: http://dx.com/p/e27-10w-6500k-166-le...ulb-220v-51280
from my understanding it's draw 10W/220V= 0.045A
so 7 like this will draw: 0.32A
and the speaker charger will draw 0.85A.
correct me if i'm wrong.
thanx

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Solar panel for camping
    Justniv wrote: »
    Hi everyone,
    I'm new to solar&electronic.
    The project i want to do is to build a solar panel for camping outdoors.

Welcome to the forum Justniv.

And, I would suggest that you do not bother to build your own solar panel (other than a single small panel as an interesting project). The solar cells on Ebay are typically mfg. rejects. Also, they are very difficult to handle and solder (very easy to break). And, a typically home made panel (plastic cover+wood back panel) will only last days to a month in sun... And for larger panels can be a real fire hazard. And building you panel with the proper glass front and vacuum sealed/backed rear cover+wiring+bypass diodes, etc. takes a lot work--and you are still using rejected cells.