Solar and energy monitoring research

yoel.k
yoel.k Registered Users Posts: 6
I am a graduate student researching the residential solar and energy monitoring space for a summer project. I have compiled a short (less than 10 question) survey to learn more about monitoring habits and hardware. I'd really appreciate if you could please take 2 minutes to fill it out. Also, if you have suggestions or recommendations for my research, please message me or reply here.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/Solar-and-Electricity-Monitoring

Thanks,
Yoel

Comments

• NorthGuy
    NorthGuy Solar Expert Posts: 1,913 ✭✭
    Re: Solar and energy monitoring research

For some reason, surveys always confuse things. First question:
    Are you a home owner with solar installed on your roof?

Three questions in one:

- Are you homeowner (vs. renter)?
    - Do you have solar (assuming panels?) installed?
    - Are they on the roof?

It's yes to first two questions, and no for the third. How the hell should I answer?

Different people with the same situation will respond differently. Is the information collected with the survay worth something?
  • yoel.k

Very good point. Thanks. I will update the question verbiage. For now I don't have any funding for a survey prize raffle or what not, but I will look into it.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

I think the question was--"is the survey going to give you some useful answers" or it is an academic exercise? I don't think anyone was looking for prizes.

So, it would be interesting to find out a bit more about you and what is your connection with solar power.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • NorthGuy
    BB. wrote: »
    I think the question was--"is the survey going to give you some useful answers" or it is an academic exercise? I don't think anyone was looking for prizes.

That's right. I certainly wasn't looking for prizes.