Fuse size from charge controller to battery

Options
Canook
Canook Registered Users Posts: 2
Hi- I am totally new to this- I have a xantrex c12 charge controller charging 2 deep cycle rv batteries from a 40 watt solar panel. I will be using it basically to keep the batteries charged in our small trailer- We use Led lights sparingly and the water pump occasionally. Has a fridge and furnace(rarely used). My question is what size of fuse will I need between the battery and charge controller? Also will I be able to run a small dc fan on the trailer circuit, or should I use a connection to the controller? Thank you.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,457 admin
    Options
    Re: Fuse size from charge controller to battery

Fuses are there to protect the wiring... So, if you have (for example) a 14 AWG wire from the battery to the charge controller, then you would use a 15 amp fuse maximum.

Every wire that leaves the battery should have its own fuse/breaker sized to the wiring/loads.

Note that a 40 watt panel has an Imp rating of around 2.3 amps-- A 5 amp minimum fuse/wiring should be fine. Having short/heavy wire from the charge controller to the battery bank is good. You want low voltage drop (0.05 to 0.10 volt drop recommended maximum). Long/thin wires from the charge controller to the battery bank with high voltage drop can reduce charging performance significantly.

Note that for fusing/wiring, you should only run 80% of rated current for you can pop the fuse/breaker. A 15 amp circuit * 0.80 = 12 amps maximum continuous current.

Using the "Load" terminals on the charge controller is frequently not very useful. They are usually current limited (sometimes as low as 8-10 amps) and the "cutoff" voltage is typically quite low (10.5 volts or so)--At that voltage level, most batteries will be damaged and severely limiting their life.