New guy intro with question

bashmaki
bashmaki Registered Users Posts: 3
I'm a trained tech guy and have been messing with solar for awhile. I am now thinking of venturing into the wind arena on a small scale (back up for solar on a class B motor home) and was wondering if anyone has had any experience with this chinese (assumtion here) MPPT charge controller. I am going to make my own turbine gen set as a project. I know MIDNITE makes one but I'm not ready to lay out that kind of dough for a small system right now. I am currently running a BZ250 with my solar panel.
I live in North Dakota and I think the wind would be a good compliment to the solar for my class B.

Thanks,
Gus

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: New guy intro with question

Welcome to the forum.... do yourself a favour and search out BZ charge controllers , IMHO you may want a get a real CC for you setup.Morning star is a reputable supplier.

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum Gus.

You have a BZ charge controller? You poor man. :p They are notoriously poor units.

Small wind is not that great, especially as an attachment to an RV. It won't be that far up in the air to get non-turbulent wind. This doesn't mean it won't work at all, just don't expect miracles okay?

You didn't actually give any info on the charge controller you were wondering about. In any case, a turbine would require some form of diversion controller & dump load (in the off chance it may actually produce too much power when the batteries are charged).