Hooking up a combined wind/solar system

moldeco
moldeco Registered Users Posts: 1
Hello all,

This is my first post and am excited to get your input.

Here in Moldova in Eastern Europe, I've come across a system with a 2.5 kW wind turbine and 6x250W solar panels. There are 5 220A/hr batteries and 10 100A/hr batteries, a 5kW wind/solar hybrid controller, a 5kW Inverter and a 5kW Dump Load. Everything is ready to go (wind turbine is installed, solar panels are on a south facing roof, the connections just need to be made between all components).

If someone could give me a basic walk through of how to set up a system such as this or direct me to where I could see this (it may have been asked before in a previous thread, if so, sorry I missed it!)

I've been tapped as the 'expert' by the group as I speak english and the user's manual is only in english. The problem with this is that I have zero experience with installing wind and solar so am looking for any help I can get :)

Thanks in advance!

John

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,590 admin
    Re: Hooking up a combined wind/solar system

Welcome to the forum John!

Let us see what we can do. At this point, we need the name/model numbers of the solar panels (so we can check the operating voltage and current of the panels Vmp/Imp at least), the charge controller (if we can find the manual on-line for it), and a bit more information about the battery bank (what voltage and Amp*Hour capacity of each type of battery--12 volt or 6 volt @ what AH).

Also, need to know about the AC inverter (voltage, model/brand, and try to find its manual on-line). Also, do you have any backup AC battery charger / Generator / utility power?