Absolute Beginner; Looking for advice on a back up system

nb12345
nb12345 Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello Everyone,

Right I am currently living in southern Africa in a particularly nice area prone to load shedding specifically the block/street I live on. I occurs very least once a week generally the power outage is for approx 4-6 hours in the evening perfectly timed when I arrive from work and want to put my feet up. So I've had enough of sitting in the dark somewhat bored and wish to start a little solar project, as a back up when these blackouts occur. When these happen I only want a few things to work during this phase essentially 2-3 lights, TV, PVR and potentially my router as well.

32" TV ~ 80w
PVR ~ 30w
Lights ~ 60w (just normal bulbs though Im going to switch them out for more energy efficient ones)

So I am currently thinking of just employing a small off-grid system to cover this. My biggest question though comes at connecting the output from an inverter to the loads listed above. In my mind I picture PV system and the AC mains supply wired to the main panel via a transfer switch (automatic though depending on costs maybe manual). That way in the event of a power cut I can separate my home from the mains and not cause any risk to someone working on the lines whilst still enjoying my quality TV. (I feel I should say that the power derived from the pv system would be wired to the specific panel(s) needed).

Is this a correct line of thought? I understand I could run an extension cable from the inverter though I don't particularly wish to do that unless its the only option available.

Currently I've bought nothing in terms of hardware I am in a process of pure pen and paper planning out the details (well learning pv systems). Any help would be greatly appreciated, not only on this post but once I've finalized plans any help/corrections are greatly welcome before I start spending.