Newbie charge controller question

silent57
silent57 Registered Users Posts: 2
Hi everyone. I'm very new to the wind and solar power scene. I haven't bought anything yet, just trying to learn first. I have a question about charge controllers. Excluding MPPT controllers, do typical charge controllers (say from missouri wind and power) regulate the incoming voltage from the wind turbine? For example, lets say I have a turbine generator that used to be an old treadmill motor. Now lets say that this motor typically puts out 40 volts. Will a normal charge controller that's not MPPT take that 40 volts and make it suitable to charge a 12 volt battery bank? Remember, this is just a hypothetical situation. If it's too much voltage for a 12v system, I would also think that it is too much for a 24v system, but not enough for a 48v system.

A slightly different but similar question is, can a professionally made 48v PMA charge a 12v battery bank as well as 48v? Or can it only charge 48v banks? I appreciate any help on how a typical non MPPT charge controller works. I have done some research on my own, but all the information I find makes it sound like the charge controller only regulates the charge on the battery and not the incoming charge from the wind turbine. If I got a hold of an old treadmill motor and it creates 40v I just don't want to be putting 40v directly into a 12v battery bank. I don't think that's okay anyways.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Newbie charge controller question

Welcome to the forum.

The answer is "yes, but no". :p