So I'm a Newb. Picking a Charge Controller.......

patrickroy33
patrickroy33 Registered Users Posts: 5
Real quick background. I'm newb with no one to defer to. I'm planning my first system for an off the grid location, with two honda 2000's for back up. This forum has been an asset to say the least. I've researched for weeks now and feel I have a good, but still basic, understanding.

In planning my system and I'm stuck on a charge controller. I really like the mppt style but price is an issue. I can afford one good one but if I need two I simply can't swing it. I'm hung up a little on the math.

I'm looking at 4 or possibly 6 sharp panels on a certain auction website. They usually come up pretty cheap and since I'm on a budget I don't think I can do much better for the $$ (most seem to be near .80 per watt). There are different ones, I've notice 235's, 240's, 250w's, etc. I will use the specs from the 250w, not sure which I'll end up with but they are all close enough.

•Maximum Power: (Pmax)* 250 W
•Tolerance of Pmax: -5%/+10%
•Type of Cell Polycrystalline silicon
•Cell Configuration 60 in series
•Open Circuit Voltage (Voc) 38.3 V
•Maximum Power Voltage (Vpm) 29.8 V
•Short Circuit Current (Isc) 8.9 A
•Maximum Power Current (Ipm) 8.4 A

And...not that it's of consequence but I've figured approx 16-20 6v 220amp batteries.

So the mppt charge controller have restriction for the most part on the max current, system voltage, and the max Panel Wattage. I know you can run in parallel and series with the panels to change figures like the amps, volts, etc.

here are the specs of the controller I'm lookin at

•Designed to accommodate project size from 12V ~ 48V ( minimum input voltage 40V)
•Max PV/DC input up to 150V
•Allows high voltage panels ( 24/48V) to charge low voltage batteries ( 12/24/36/48V)
•Parallel up to 254 units (IP address, MODBUS) forr large projects.
•High charging current up to 60A (maximum 1500w) output reduces overall charging time.