Dump load operation

Kretz
Kretz Registered Users Posts: 3
I am in the process of trying to set uyp a off grid system. I have put up a 7.5Kw einf generator and a 1000 watt solar array. I have a coleman C440-HVA controller and two frok lift battries of 660 amp hours at 24 volts each. I was going to set it up as a 24 volt system but have found out I must go to a 24 volt system. I have a 6000 watt Aims inverter that I now have to discard and get a 48 volt inverter. I have been trying to make my own dump load out of 410 stainless steel to handle 10Kw. My math shows that if I use 12 feet of the stainless steel I should have a little over 11Kw of sump load at .31 Ohms or I can add another 12 feet and it will be .6 ohms and 22Kw of dump load. Will this work using stainless steel? This is my first try at the alternative power. I am retired and trying to do something.

Kretz

Comments

• gww1
    gww1 Solar Expert Posts: 963 ✭✭
    Re: Dump load operation

I don't know about the stainless steel for dump load. If you wanted to research you could look at what they have done at the "otherpower" web site or "the backshed" site and then you wouldn't have to reinvent the wheel. I also don't understand why you have to go to 48 volts. I always just try to copy what others have already made work.
    Good luck
    gww
  • Rybren
    Rybren Solar Expert Posts: 351 ✭✭

Why do you need a dump load?
  • NorthGuy
    NorthGuy Solar Expert Posts: 1,913 ✭✭

11kW is about the same amount of heat as a cooking range produces when all burners are on. With so much heat dissipating through the load, it'll be a huge fire hazard.
  • Kretz