Advice on adding wind to my off-grid system...

tuckersnocat
tuckersnocat Registered Users Posts: 7
Hi All,

I'm new to this forum and am hoping that someone can give me some advice about adding a wind turbine to my small off-grid cabin system. It's high in the mtns of SW Colorado. I'm there intermittently throughout the year but access can be challenging in the winter, I'm not complaining, I like the adventure . In the summer we usually have adequate power but I have to run the generator quite a bit in the winter and would like to decrease that. I've had the current system running for some time but I'm no expert and would appreciate any advice.

I've got an opportunity to buy a good used 3.2 kW wind generator (Proven). It produces 3 phase AC variable voltage power (200-225 Vac 3 ph). Nothing else would come with it so I'd have to purchase all of the other components needed to use the power. I'm thinking that I could rectify that output to DC variable voltage (240-300V dc) which would then go through a load diverting charge controller into my 24V battery bank. I'll probably heat water with the diverted power. Is there anything wrong with that general concept? Any suggestions for the charge controller?

The rest of my system consists of:
-720W of PV through an Outback MX60 charge controller.
-24V microhydro generator which is used with a Morningstar load diverting charge controller in the summer.
-SW Windpower 24V 300W wind turbine which we really just put up to get a sense of how much wind we have - the answer is not a tremendous amount but it's nicely complementary to the PV. It's usually either sunny or windy at 11,000 feet in the mountains.
-Outback 2500W FX Inverter
-Outback AC and DC Enclosures
-Generator

I would appreciate any advice!
Russell Hill
La Plata, NM

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Advice on adding wind to my off-grid system...