Suplimental Solar charging in a mobil appllication

Bunkie314
Bunkie314 Registered Users Posts: 11
Well, I have purchased a Magnum Sine wave invter and 3 lifeline 8D AGM batteries (210 Ah). SYstem work extreamly well for a 12 v that I am unfortunately tied to. Now for the questions:

1. I have a cargo trailer that is 8 ft wide and 42 ft long. I could mount 10 of the UniSolar PMV quite easily to the roof. Quesitons I have are what controller to use with the 48 v output of the pannel? Can I only harvest 30% of the second have of the voltage at peak (33 v)?

I have purchased 5 of these pannels and am currently using one to maintain the battery voltage array. Do I need to purchase another 5?

What MPPT system would be needed to pull effective engery from the pannel Vpp.

My hope is to only have to run the generator every couple of days to fully charge the battery.

Thought? Advice? You screwed up? Let me have it, I'm new to this.

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Suplimental Solar charging in a mobil appllication

welcome. One question, what are your loads?

Similar to all roads lead to Rome, all good systems are based on their loads

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • Bunkie314

Running down one of the calc sheets I came up with about 275 Ah usage on a heavy day (TV, fridge, lights, Microwave, etc)
  • westbranch

Based on the 275 Ah, you will need 275 x 2(50% max usage) = at least a battery capacity of 550 Ah. This is at a rate that will take your battery to the brink of over use and make it unable to be recharged It will also need to be recharged from the grid overnight. So the question i:s just how big a battery reserve do you want?