Mixing Solar Panels?

sunpower33
sunpower33 Registered Users Posts: 4
Hi everyone, I am new to solar. So I buy the cheap 45watt panel system from Harbor Freight and swapped the charge controller with a Sunforce 10Amp Digital Charge Controller. Then connected to 4 each 35AH batteries wired in parallel. My question is... If I was to make my own solar panel panel using 6 each 5V 500mA Solar Cells wired in series and parallel to make a 15V 1A Panel, could I connect it to my current setup? The Harbor Freight Panels are rated at 17.5V (Vmp) and 23.5V Open Current (Voc).

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,590 admin
    Re: Mixing Solar Panels?

It would be better if your panel was 17.5 to 18.6 volts or so Vmp--15 volts is too low to fully/quickly charge a 12 volt battery through a charge controller (you need around 14.4 to 14.8 volts to fully/quickly recharge a flooded cell storage battery)... By the time you take Vmp reduction (as panels get hot, Vmp drops) and voltage drop due to wiring and controller--Vmp in the range of 17.5 to 18.6 volts is about the minimum you would want to design for.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • sunpower33

Thanks Bill! What if I use 8 of the cells to get 20V, would that be better?

Thanks
  • BB.

I am not sure which cells you are thinking of using--But the "typical" bare solar cell is 0.5 volts, not 5.0 volts... So, commercial panels would be around 18 cells in series to create a Vmp~17.5 volt array.

You can go a bit higher--Will not give you more power with a PWM controller--They are simple "on/off" type switching, so the Imp-panel is what is the limiting factor here. You can go with Vmp~20 volts, it will not hurt anything and it will give you a bit more "head room" for voltage drop (for example, if you have long wire runs, hot panels/cold batteries, some batteries that require 15-16 volts for full charging, etc.).