Running glass kiln (10kwh) off-grid?

tomas
tomas Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi guys,

I'm absolute newbie to solar (but I spent few days studying :) and I would like to know if it would be possible to run single (or even 3-phase) glass kiln totally off grid. The kiln I'm talking about would be something similar to this one (lower graded ones at the top of the list) - http://www.essexkilns.co.uk/glass-kilns-studio

I know that some people actually run such stuff on diesel generator but as the whole glass fusing cycle takes ~12 hours I'm thinking about some combined solution aka bank battery (fully charged by solar panels) and a diesel generator as a backup. The kiln takes max energy on the very beginning of the process when it warms up to 700-800C and then it just switch on for couple of minutes each 30 minutes or so to maintain the temperature on the same level.

Would it be possible to run such thing on something like 8/12 * 325A 12V AGM batteries connected in 2/3 groups on 48V + some sort of the inverter and get those batteries charged up with solar panels to minimise running time of the diesel generator?

To get on-grid would cost me ~$40k+ and I hope it would be possible to get the off-grid solution for less then $20k maybe but I'm really not sure if this is doable at all due to high peaks of power needed at the beginning.

Thanks a lot!

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Running glass kiln (10kwh) off-grid?

Spend the $40K!

Just guessing but a PV battery system is going to hve to be huge,, (read EXPENSIVE!). Give us a better idea of the the a wattage draw of the klin is, I'm guessing huge.