Solar on RV question

Baddogy
Baddogy Registered Users Posts: 4
Good afternoon, I’m new to the forum and find it informative. I'm a newbie and could use some help. I have a 36 foot 5th wheel that I am planning to add solar. I plan on starting with 2 140 watt panels with a charge controller and 2 t105s. Now my question is how do you run your 110 items from you batteries? I understand that I need an inverter but, do I need to go directly to the panel or through a switch? Sorry I can't remember the name. Also is there a back feeding problem when you hook up to power?

I would be great full for any information. and picture would really help.

thanks

Tom

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Solar on RV question

Welcome to the forum Tom.

I've moved this to its own thread to make it easier to keep track of who's talking about what.

So far you're doing okay: 280 Watts of panel will just about charge 220 Amp hours @ 12 Volts. If those are Kyocera KD140's they have a 7.9 Imp so with a PWM type controller you'll be right around 7% for a peak charge rate. All good.

The inverter will be wired directly to the batteries through an appropriate sized fuse or breaker. The size of the wires and circuit protection will be determined by the particular inverter you use.

You are right that there can be problems when connecting to "shore power". For one thing you definitely need to switch AC loads from 'inverter' to 'shore' so that there is never any connection between the two AC power sources. There's more than one way to do this, and again the particular inverter used comes in to play. One of the big issues is the problem of neutral-ground bond on AC. The easiest way to avoid those issues is to avoid MSW type inverters.

Mainly you're looking at a transfer switch for the AC. Some inverters have one built in, other don't.

Did that help any?
  • Baddogy