Using an electric clothes dryer off-grid

2»

Comments

• Volvo Farmer
    Volvo Farmer Solar Expert Posts: 209 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Using an electric clothes dryer off-grid

This is likely my last post on the subject. I have been repairing appliances for twenty three years. I have had Maytag, Frigidaire, Asko, GE and Whirlpool dryers in my home, in both gas and electric. My opinion is that the Whirlpool dryer with the lint screen on the top is the best design on the US market for drying clothes quickly and efficiently. It is a robust, well engineered unit whose major design points haven't changed in forty years. You might look at it and say it can't work well because the heat and exhaust both come in the back, yet somehow it does.

I am also not of the consensus that there is much room for efficiency improvement in electric clothes dryers. Dryers need lots of heat and lots of airflow to drive the moisture out of the clothes. Washers, refrigerators, and dishwashers have become much more efficient in the last 40 years. Why are dryers still using 4500 watt heating elements and 1/3 hp motors? Because manufacturers are lazy and consumers won't buy one? I think not. It takes heat and airflow to dry clothes quickly and there is no way around that fact.