Grid tie inverter that does NOT feed into the grid

mi_cin
mi_cin Registered Users Posts: 8
Hi guys,

I have another solar question, I'm new to the topic and I appreciate your patience.

In my country we still don't have new regulations on solar power systems. So right now selling energy (or feeding into the grid) is illegal with out a problematic procedure no one would like to go through. But I still have some house devices that are connected to the grid and consume power.

Let say I would like to have a 1kWp solar generator on the roof and a grid-tie inverter. If there is a cloudy day and I'm home the energy produced will be consumed by devices immediately and nothing goes out of the house. But if I'm out of home the devices consume less energy and there are some leftovers that would go to the grid (in my case illegally - I don't have a permission to do it and the way to get it is too complicated).

Is there a way to "keep all the power home"? Some kind of a device like DC diode but for AC? I want to use as much as I can for my devices but I don't want to send leftovers to the grid. What's more: I would like that system to be easy upgradeable to work with feed-in-tariff when it finally comes.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Grid tie inverter that does NOT feed into the grid

No easy/cheap way of doing it... There are "hybrid" AC inverters which operate as both Grid Tied (when utility power is up) and Off Grid (when utility power has failed). And they (in theory) can be programmed not to backfeed the AC meter.

In practice, the programming has been complex and problematic (right firmware, right things programmed in the right places, and no details in the manuals).

If you need/want battery backed AC power anyway--Then it is a possibility.