Going Solar On My Work Van!!!

timmcbeth1984
timmcbeth1984 Registered Users Posts: 6
First of all, I'm a noob at this kind of thing. Not only am i talking about solar power, but also joining a forum in itself. So I'm a double noob. Anyway, I need lots of help with an idea of going solar on my work van. It would be a pretty simple decision to make if i knew more on the subject of course but first let me fill you in on the idea. I have a Chevy Express cargo work van that i plan on running a few electric tools/equiment out of. I bought a 1000 Watt power inverter from Autozone and I am planning on buying a couple batteries to build a small bank. Well, since I only have a 105A alternator I was thinking solar panel on the roof to help out. Is this idea too far fetched? Not really sure how much wattage I'll be using with the equipment I plan to run, but the bigest piece has a 1.0HP 0.75KW electric motor that will probably run for about 30min. at a time maybe four times a day at the most and the other stuff will be a laptop, a all in one HP printer and some cordless drill type battery chargers. But nothing will be ran continuously, only when it needs to be charged up, etc. I'm not sure if solar is even the best route. Do i even need multiple batteries or maybe just get one extra battery and upgrade to the 130A alternator. If I go solar with a battery bank how much solar wattage do i need? Cost Vs. efficiency? Please help. Thanks.

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Going Solar On My Work Van!!!

welcome to the forum,
    bluntly quit buying stuff until you've talked it out here.

we (and you) need to know or have an idea of the wattage consumption of what loads and for how long each day.
    a few points here---