Questions addressing small scale power generation

GreenAce92
GreenAce92 Registered Users Posts: 17
I am interested in generating my own power, both for future sale of the generator product and also to power my own server for the same website hosting those products.

What I am curious about is raw information.

To give a quick synopsis of myself, I am a physics and engineering student, Junior.
I have taken up to mechanics of materials and up to Quantum Mechanics though I did not complete Quantum Mechanics.
This is *currently* a personal project, not affiliated with the school I attend.

I included this information so that you may not be confused as to why I may be asking mundane questions and yet be addressing advanced topics.

Without further confusion.

I am looking to generate power for small scale. As I said, enough to run a server both during the day and over night with a UPS power supply. Perhaps I will need more to run the computer attached to this server unless I create a hybrid of some sort or a dedicated computer server.

Anyway, one of my questions is, how much power would I need? *Depends on server model and computer model* right but a rough estimate.
I have been told that a single household uses about 8kW's

Secondly, since my application is small, I wondered what is best to use, brushless outrunners (3-phase design) or DC brushed motors

I am a model aircraft guy so I am very familiar with the electronics depicted below. I am not sure if they will suffice my needs for the power generation that I am asking about.
Battery
Motor
ESC ( speed controller to run motor )
Brushed motor DC

Some technical questions
* Is it better to opt for high rpm, or low rpm?
* How can you provide power to something that requires more power than what you generate? Can you trickle charge to build a higher voltage than what the power generator can supply at peak operating performance?