In need of technicial advice

I am new to a company which we are designing a system we have not had very much practice with. This would be installing a 10kW Bergey Excel single phase 240VAC @ 60Hz grid-tie with battery back up on an SSL tower. The system will remain grid-tie with a battery backup only intended for emergency power outages lasting 24-48 hours, since power outages only happen maybe once a year. I was configuring to use the Xantrex XW6048 inverter C40 + display charge controller and DC250 DC disconnect. While using deep-cycle interstate batteries 48VDC @ an estimated 80Amp-Hours. We will also be using left over #2AWG which was left over in the shop.

If there is any knowledge from doing this kind of system the knowledge will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: In need of technicial advice

PC,

Welcome to the forum. I am not familiar with the Bergey product--It looks like it is a wind turbine with a GT Inverter attached to it. So, pure AC grid. I would want to confirm what the system does when there is a wind storm and power outage (does the turbine furl and the GT inverter shunt/dump to a resistor load bank to keep the turbine from over-speeding?).

What is your plan with the XW 6048 and C-40 charge controller?

The XW appears to be too small to connect to the Bergey 10kW turbine in a "micro-grid" setup (XW hybrid inverter can make a local 120/240 VAC 60 Hz grid and work in tandem with the GT Inverter to support loads and even directly recharge the battery bank if there is excess wind power).

Are you planning on solar power in the mix or just GT Wind? Will you have enough battery power to run the XW+loads for 24-48 hours without wind/solar/generator for backup power?