suspicious of solar calculators; load sizing

kabuba
kabuba Registered Users Posts: 3
hi all,
I'm a newbie when it comes to solar but have a passion for it. i want to put a solar hybrid solution for a load of 6700Wh. this is the load that would need to be supported in a 24-hour period and when there's no insolation, i can switch to mains. the various solar calculators i have been using have been giving me a 12*200Wp-panel array, another gave me a 8*200Wp-panel array. my question is, why the discrepancy and does anybody out there have a better way of deciding the inverter size, battery bank and most importantly, the number of panels that i need to use?
i was planning on using a 3.6kVA numeric inverter (has a solar option). i live in nairobi, which has an elevation of 1800m above sea level and has an average insolation of 5.62 hours in a day.
replies would be highly appreciated!!!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin
    Re: suspicious of solar calculators; load sizing

Welcome to the forum Kabuba.

I assume that you have done the first several steps for solar--You have done as much conservation as possible (low power/efficient appliances, turns stuff off when not used, etc.) and that you have measured your loads so you know how much power per day you need (estimating power usage from equipment name plate ratings is not usually very accurate--many times, it will over estimate your loads).

To the math... Loads drive battery bank size. Normally, we recommend 1-3 days of "no sun" and 50% maximum discharge (for longer battery life). Picking 2 days and a 48 volt battery bank, I would suggest:
    • 6,700 Watt*Hours * 1/48 volts * 1/0.85 inverter efficiency * 2 days of no sun * 1/0.50 max discharge = 558 AH @ 48 volts

Then to size the solar array... Two ways of sizing, first is based on the charge rate of the battery bank (5% to 13% recommended) and second is based on load and hours of sun per day.

Based on rate of charge: