Load Managment for Small Off-Grid System

DanS
DanS Registered Users Posts: 5
I am new to solar electric systems and would appreciate some good advice about load management for a small off-grid system.

I am designing an off-grid system based on a 12 Vdc 168 Ah AGM battery bank and two 140W Kyocera KD-140SX-UFBS solar modules (Voc 22.1 V, Isc 8.68 A & Vpm 17.7 V). I plan to use the Morningstar TS-MPPT-60 charge controller to recharge the battery bank. The TS-MPPT-60 is overkill at this point, but allows future expansion and control via a web brower.

The only load for this initial step is an DC-powered Engle refrigerator which draws 2.7 A @ 12 Vdc when the compressor is running.

I am considering adding the Sunsaver SS-MPPT-15L charge controller solely for its LVD feature to prevent the load from discharging the battery bank to a low SOC. The SS-MPPT-15L would have no input from the solar modules. The only input would be from the battery bank.

Can the SS-MPPT-15L be reliably used in this manner with no input connection from a solar module (i.e. utilizing only the SS-MPPT-15L Battery and Load terminals, with no connection to the Solar terminals)?

Is another approach better to provide protection to the battery bank from a low SOC?

Thank you.

Comments

• SolaRevolution
    SolaRevolution Solar Expert Posts: 410 ✭✭
    Re: Load Managment for Small Off-Grid System
    DanS wrote: »
    Is another approach better to provide protection to the battery bank from a low SOC?

You may want to consider the Morningstar Relay driver:
    http://www.solar-electric.com/moredr.html

The Relay Driver is designed to work with the TriStar charge controllers. Custom programming requires using "MS View" software and the proper connection cable but there may be presets for one of the four relays which could work for you.