SMA grid tie with backup

Hello all,

I'm quite new to SMA products, and have voraciously been reading any and all information about them. Here are some questions, starting with what we're planning to install.

Plans:
1. 45 x Evergreen ES-E 205wp panels
2. 3 x Sunny Mini Central 8000Wp (more solar panels will be added in the next 2 years)
3. 3 phase

Questions:
1. For some reason the Sunny Island 3348 cannot be used for 3 phase operation? Is that right? Why is that
2. can we install 3 x sunny island 5048 into a single battery bank for 3 phase operation?
3. I think 3 x sunny Island may be too much money and too big in capacity for the backup
4. Can we use 3 x 2224 Sunny Island with the above Sunny Mini Central? Someone told me that there's too much power, and that they recommend only 2 x larger grid tied inverter/solar PV installed. I would think that the problem would come from not having enough grid tied inverter/solar PV to charge the battery system, not having "too much".

Thanks!

Comments

• stephendv
    stephendv Solar Expert Posts: 1,571 ✭✭
    Re: SMA grid tie with backup

Hi,

I assume you're not in the US, because neither of those products are available there. Would be good to know where this installation will be, because each country has different rules about backup systems and grid tie.
    rabbit_39 wrote: »
    1. 45 x Evergreen ES-E 205wp panels
    2. 3 x Sunny Mini Central 8000Wp (more solar panels will be added in the next 2 years)
    3. 3 phase

You also have the option of using a single tripower inverter.
    Questions:
    1. For some reason the Sunny Island 3348 cannot be used for 3 phase operation? Is that right? Why is that

Can't answer this one. The 3024 and 4248 are relatively old compared to the 2k,5k and 6kW versions- so it could very well be that they can't be used in 3-phase setups.
    2. can we install 3 x sunny island 5048 into a single battery bank for 3 phase operation?